DWLSR – Driving While License Suspended or Revoked

DWLSR – Driving While L…

Charged with Florida DWLSR or need to get your driver's license reinstated?

We’ve handled hundreds of suspended driver’s license cases over the years. Usually they are simple to fix if the person just pays the outstanding fines or traffic tickets.

BUT TALK TO US BEFORE you pay outstanding traffic tickets.

BECAUSE IF YOU PAY OFF ALL THE FINES AT ONCE — ALL THE POINTS FOR THOSE TICKETS ARE CHARGED AT ONCE AND YOUR LICENSE COULD BE SUSPENDED AGAIN.

For example, let’s say you have 4 outstanding speeding tickets. The points are assessed when you pay the ticket — not when you got it. So if you’re considering using your tax return to pay off all your tickets and get your driver’s license back BE CAREFUL! Paying off 4 speeding tickets all on the same day gives you 12 points — 12 points in 12 months suspends your license for ANOTHER 30 days. Makes no sense right? That’s the way the Florida law works. It doesn’t matter when you got the ticket — points accrue when you pay the ticket.

You can learn more below, including about how to get your license back if it was suspended for DUI, drug charges, or failure to pay child support. If you're at all unsure about how to proceed, contact Pawuk & Pawuk for a free, no-obligation consultation. Our attorneys practice in Pasco County and throughout most of the surrounding Florida communities.

Points for Common Traffic Tickets in Florida

Here’s a list of the points for common traffic tickets in Florida as listed by the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (FLHSMV) (as of May 2019).

Offense / Citation

Points

RECKLESS DRIVING

4

CRASH - Leaving scene without giving information more than $50 damage (specify amount)

6

CRASH - Fail to leave information UNATTENDED vehicle - property damage

6

CARELESS DRIVING

3

SPEEDING

3

Violation of 316.183(2), 316.187, or 316.189, Speed in excess of 50 MPH

4

TOO fast for conditions

3

Passing on enter/exit side while bus is stopped [See 318.19(3) Mandatory Hearing Required]

4

SCHOOL BUS - failure to stop for (school election available to have adjudication withheld)

4

Fail to stop at STEADY RED signal, one-way street, before making left turn

4

Fail to obey traffic control signal (Failed to stop at traffic signal/red light)

4

Fail to stop at STEADY RED signal

3

Failed to yield right-of-way to pedestrian

3

TRAFFIC CONTROL DEVICE Fail to obey traffic control device (sign)

3

FAILED TO YIELD

3

BACKING - improper

3

CHILD RESTRAINT - Infant thru 3 years MUST be in SEPARATE carrier, 4-5 years in carrier/seat belt. Applies to ANY location in vehicle (Driver to be cited)

3

Child Restraint required

3

How to Get Your License Back if Suspended for DUI, Drug Charges, or Nonpayment of Child Support

If your driver’s license is suspended for something other than unpaid traffic tickets like:

then contact us — you may be eligible for a hardship license or business purposes only license (BPO) so you can drive to and from work or school. We can help you get one or at least tell you if you are eligible.

SPECIAL NOTE: If you NEVER had a driver’s license in any state — you SHOULD NOT be charged with a criminal DWLSR in Florida. You may be charged with No Valid Driver’s License which is a civil ticket, not a criminal offense.

Contact Our Florida DWLSR / License Restoration Attorneys

If you have any questions about your Florida driver’s license suspension – CALL US. We offer free consultations and may be able to tell you over the phone how to fix your suspension. Based in Pasco County, Florida, we serve most of the surrounding area, including Pinellas County and Hernando County.

Meet Our Attorneys

Daniel N. Pawuk's Profile Image
Former State Prosecutor — Tampa & Clearwater, FL 15+ Years Experience
Dan is a hands-on advocate who will keep you informed about your case and educated about your options. Despite the number of cases he has handled, no case is ever a number to Dan. Read More

Recent Blog Posts

Aug
25
Can you recuse a Judge for Facebook “friends”? Some Florida courts say that you can. Some say you can’t. Like all things legal – it depends on the facts. Thinking about your own Facebook account, how many “friends”… Read More

Read More From Our Blog